BC riders took all four of the Elite and Junior titles on Sunday at the 2018 Canadian Downhill Championships in Panorama Resort in Invermere, British Columbia.

More than 200 riders took part in the Canadian Downhill Championships this past weekend at Panorama Resort in Invermere, British Columbia, and BC riders won all four of the Elite and Junior titles. Divisions of the race included:

  • Under-17
  • Junior (17-18)
  • Elite (19+)
  • Masters age group categories including 30-39, 40-49 and 50+ for men, and 30+ for women
Above: Magnus Manson, of Victoria, BC is the men’s elite winner and 2018 Canadian National Champ. Top: Joshua Regan (elite men) of Calgary, AB. All photos by Jenny Bateman of JRB Photography. Click the photo for more images by her.

Vaea Verbeeck, the 2014 national champion, won the Elite women’s title, while Magnus Manson won the men’s. It is the first Elite title for Manson, who qualified fifth on Saturday, but won an extremely tight competition in the final for the men’s title. The three medalists were separated by only 36/100ths of a second, with Manson recording 3:04.77. Silver medalist Hugo Langevin was only two-hundredths of a second back and bronze medalist Mark Wallace was 36/100ths of a second back. Defending champion Kirk McDowall had qualified first, but crashed in the final.

Jenny Bateman photo.

“I’m stoked, this is what you go for,” said Manson. “The level in Canada has gone up so much; there are tons of guys qualifying for World Cups and a few years ago that wasn’t happening. I love this track, it’s got everything; there’s rocks, there’s roots, there’s dust, it’s a fun track.”

In the women’s race, Verbeeck qualified first, followed by defending Canadian champion and reigning world champion Miranda Miller. The final was the same, with Verbeeck’s winning time of 3:34.41, 4.90 seconds faster than Miller. B.C.’s Georgia Astle finished third, a further 6.91 seconds back.

Piper Allman came 2nd in the Junior women’s division which secured her the position of 2018 Canadian National Champ.
Jenny Bateman photo.

“It feels awesome to win the title,” said Verbeeck. “It’s been four years since I won, and winning with Miranda competing is super sweet. I have huge respect for her. I loved the new parts of the course; it’s closer to what a World Cup course is like.”

In the Junior women’s competition, BC-based Spanish rider Ainhoa Ijurko was the top finisher, but ineligible for the title, with second placed Piper Allman the new champion. In the Junior men’s race, World Cup rider Lucas Cruz won the title ahead of Ian Milley.

Jenny Bateman photo.

“A big thanks to everyone involved in making the 2018 Canadian Championships a great success,” said Josh Peacock, Competitions Coordinator at Cycling Canada. “The organization presented a top-notch event and the staff at Panorama Mountain Resort went the extra mile to create some amazing new trails which challenged Canada’s best. We are very excited to return to Panorama for the 2019 edition of the Championships, which will include the Enduro for the first time.”

For the full results from the Canadian Downhill Champships, click here: Panorama-DH-Results.